How To Have A Successful Child’s Party At Home

happy birthday candles

Normally when it comes to discussing the topic of event planning I’m really excited, but this time I’m a little nervous. Why? Because I’m dealing with a topic that makes me a little uneasy: home birthday parties. I talk to parents all the time who are frustrated at even the thought of planning their child’s party, myself included. I have five children, and I find myself loosing sleep just trying to come up with interesting  party themes. Many parents today feel like it is becoming more and more challenging to plan and hold successful home parties. Like them, I too don’t want to deal with the wear-and-tear to my home, and trying to come up with age-appropriate, engaging games can be very time consuming. You may be reading this and nodding your head in agreement, but I’m going to put all of your worries to rest.
The first thing most of us think about when it comes to planning a home party is the work it takes to clean the house, decorate, and then clean up the mess once your house has been destroyed. Well, it’s not really as hard as it seems. First, clean the house a little each day during the week of the party. The night before, just do a little spot cleaning. You can also decorate ahead of time. Putting up wall kids playing in sprinklersdecorations and streamers can be done days before the big event. What about the big clean-up after the party? That doesn’t have to be such a daunting task if you limit the party to the outdoors. Keep the children outside as much as possible. Have one bathroom designated for use, and one sitting area for the adults. If you don’t have a patio or big shade tree, set up a tent. Use this for the food area. Have everything set out ahead of time, and refresh certain items as needed. This will limit the in and out traffic for food and drinks.
Have you ever tried to entertain a house full of small children? Unless you have a really great clown costume, don’t even try. Spring has sprung and summer is on the way, so let the great outdoors take care of the party fun. One activity that is always a big hit is making bubbles. With a little corn syrup, dish soap, and water kids can have hours of fun! bubbles in the airI loved running in the sprinklers when I was a little kid, and I’m glad this is a past-time that little ones still enjoy. Turn your sprinklers on and let them have at it. Just be sure to tell parents their children may get wet. If you don’t have sprinklers, you can purchase a water hose attachment from most stores, or even set up a few of those small plastic pools around the yard.
Parents, don’t worry with planning a Pinterest worthy party. Your birthday boy or girl knows how to have fun with their friends. That’s kind of why they like each other. All they need is a safe place to have fun. Throw in some food and a few decorations and you have the makings of a successful home party.

Are you planning a birthday party for your little pirate or princess? Comment below and tell me what you are most concerned about. After all, I’m here to help!

