Should You Rent or Buy Your Event Items

buy or rent sogn

I belong to several groups on Facebook, and many of them have to do with wedding and event planning. In once such group, two ladies were discussing linens and whether or not they should rent them or purchase them. Of course I had to jump on the thread and share my two cents. As I was conversing with these ladies, I thought to myself, “this would be a great blog post!” So I’m going to give you a few tips to help you determine if you should rent or buy your event items.

CC000552What is it really going to cost?   

When it comes to renting or buying, you need to consider all things involved. Let’s use my Facebook conversation as an example and talk about linens. On the surface it may seem like buying your table cloths will be cheaper than renting. However, some online linen companies require higher quantities when you purchase from them. So while renting your linens might be $12 per table and buying them is only $8 per table it might not be worth it if you only need 15 table cloths, but the company minimum to purchase is 25.

Will you be receiving additional services?Original-BPF-Spring-House_interior_drop-cloth-tablecloth_step1_h.jpg.rend.hgtvcom.1280.960

Many times when you rent certain items, you aren’t just getting the items themselves. You may also have the option of having the rental company set up and take down their materials. This is very important to take note of. When you use items that you have purchased yourself, many venues will not handle them because of the liability. Your rented items will be insured. This may mean that if you are opting for D-I-Y centerpieces you may have to assemble them yourself. And those linens I mentioned, unless you want them wrinkled they will need to be steamed. This usually takes 20 minutes per table cloth. This can be very time consuming if you are having a large event.

Do you have room to store your items? storage units

If you decide to purchase your event items, you will need a safe place to keep them before and after your event. I recently purchased some vases, and they are still in the back of my van. I’m hoping to find a home for them inside before my investment gets shattered to pieces. You could very well find yourself in a similar situation. I suggest having a space set aside for storing your items and that you have a plan for what you will do with them after your event is over. If you are thinking of selling, then it’s  good idea to take a photo of your items during the event so buyers can see the potential.

There are pros and cons to both renting and buying. I’m not partial to either, but I do believe it’s wise to do your homework first. Make sure you are taking all variables into consideration when you are counting up the cost. Have you purchased items for an event before? How did it work out for you? Comment below and share your story.

