What I Learned This Weekend: Event Recap

On Saturday, I hosted a networking event for business owners in the East Texas area. I had a blast! I laughed, listened, and I also learned. This event taught me three very important things.

#1 Being a hostess is hard work! Visions by Vaughn Event Setup

I love helping my clients plan their events. However on the day of the event I am usually managing the logistics NOT playing hostess. When I finally got home Saturday evening, I was exhausted! I have a lot of respect for DJs and MCs. Keeping the party going is not an easy task.

#2 I need an assistant. Visions by Vaughn food setup

This was a small event so I was able to manage setup, cleanup, and hostessing by myself. However, it’s always nice to have an extra set of hands (and eyes and ears). Going forward, I will enlist assistants to take on tasks that don’t require my presence.

Visions by Vaughn Networking Event#3 Personal connections still matter.

Business owners are busy people, and small business owners usually wear many different hats at once. I really appreciate everyone who took time out of their schedules to come out and shake some hands. Spending time talking to other business owners in a relaxed environment was both refreshing and educational.

I’d like to send a special thank you to all of the vendors and the gracious business owners who donated door prizes.

Charrell Garcia~ Papparazzi

Shannon Iverson~ Zeal for Life

Aprill Riley~ It Works

Meagan Oller~ Mary Kay

Kimberly & Matthew Shaw~ Granny’s Suds Laundry Soap

Stephenie Prine~ Stephy’s Sweetie Pies

Thank you to all who attended. I’m looking forward to the next one.

