The Eckford Wedding: What I Learned

A couple of months ago, I began a conversation with a bride on Facebook. She was looking for someone who could assist her on the day of her wedding. I was intrigued because the bride lived in East Texas, which is where I live, and her wedding was taking place in Houston, which is where I am from. Well, we hit it off, and I was very excited to be working with her. eckford wedding sweetheart table

On Saturday, I traveled to Houston and Sunday morning, I woke up with my game face on. Here is what I learned from the whole experience:

  • I like when people listen to me. Dominique was wonderful to work with because she listened to my advice and she actually implemented it. I love what I do, and I work hard to be good at it. It’s awesome when a client recognizes my expertise and allows me to do what I’m being paid to do.
  • I’m a people person. I had so much fun yesterday! I worked hard, but I laughed a lot. I chatted it up with the Father of the Bride, the venue manager, and the photographer’s assistant. I had a blast! (Note to event planners: you will only be able to have fun at your events if they are well planned.)
  • eckford wedding cake tableGoing the extra mile is what it’s all about. I was hired to do day-of coordination. This typically means that I do not get involved with the design (or decorating) side of the event. However, I decided to surprise the bride and get fresh rose petals to include with her decorations. I’m so glad that I did because they really livened up the cake table, and everyone kept saying how beautiful everything looked.

Now, yesterday was not without it’s hiccups, but in the end the bride and groom were happy and a good time was had by all. I’m so glad that I got to be apart of the Eckford wedding. Tonzel and Dominique, I wish you blessings and happiness. dominique and tonzel eckford

