My Mom’s 55th Birthday Party

My mother recently turned 55. From what I can gather, the 50th and 60th birthdays are popular celebrations, and 55 is just in between. Well, when my mom turned 50 I was living 1500 miles away, and still adjusting to be a mom of 2 little girls. So this year we both decided to do it up big.

I am a native Houstonian and we have lots of family there so my mother decided to host a 3-day event in Houston. Friday night was game night, Saturday was a BBQ, and Sunday morning we had a brunch. Here are a few things I learned from this process.

~I am done with the USPS! One of the things that my mom really wanted to do was play a gamed called Po-Ke-No. I had never heard of it, but I was able to order it through Amazon. Because of schedules, I was not going to be able to make it to game night so I decided to mail the game to my family in Houston. I put it in the mail on Wednesday and paid for 2-day guaranteed delivery. The game still has not arrived.

~I need more storage containers. When my family travels for any length of time, we usually have a ton of bags. This time, I packed 2 bags for clothing, and put the party supplies into a large plastic storage container. This was such a time saver! I (ok my husband) was able to take the container out, and I knew I had everything I needed for set up. I didn’t have to rummage through a bunch of bags and boxes to find what I needed. 55th birthday photo collage

~Communication is key! I am not really a late night person, and I don’t like to keep my kiddos out late. So I decided that the party would start at 2:00pm on Saturday. This was a huge mistake. I should have consulted with my mother to find out the best start time. I was not aware of other family events going on so most of the guests did not arrive until after 5:00. I think going forward I will have my clients do a quick heat check of their guests to figure out the best dates and times for attendance.

~I work pretty well in a pinch. My original plan was to purchase floral arrangements from a local florist, but that did not work out. On the day of the party, I knew that I needed a little something extra to jazz up the decor. I

White Hydrangea and Pink Roses
White Hydrangea and Pink Roses

decided to go to the grocery store to purchase some flowers. There were not any pre-made arrangements that would fit in with our color scheme (pink and black) so I decided to buy a few bunches and put them together myself. I was very pleased at the way the arrangements turned out. So much so that I plan on taking a floral design class in the near future.

I’m so glad that I was able to celebrate with my mother this year. She had a great time, and I had to opportunity to challenge myself and learn new things. Happy Birthday Mom!

