Awesome Fall Celebration Ideas

As a little child I loved dressing up for Halloween and going door-to-door asking for sweet treats. Now as an adult with my own children I hold different beliefs and we do not participate in traditional Halloween activities. This year my older two started asking about having a God-Oween celebration. I wasn’t really on board with that idea, but I did see that they had a desire to celebrate the season, and keep in line with our faith. I’m sure many of you may find yourselves in a similar situation. Below are a few awesome fall celebration ideas.

~Neighborhood Carnival ring toss
Get together with a few other families in your neighborhood and put together a carnival for the kids. Each family can sponsor a game or activity. To keep costs down have each family bring a dish or treat to share. Most city parks will allow you to use the park at little to no cost.

~Harvest Hoedown 
This is what we have decided to do this year. I used a free invitation template online and printed out invitations. We are going to decorate the back yard, scarecrow and pumpkinorganize some games, and throw on some music. I’ve instructed our guests to practice the Texas Two-Step so that we can do a group dance. I’ll let you guys know how it goes.

Movie Night 

backyard movie night
backyard movie night

This can be done in so many ways. You can rent a projector and put up a sheet in the backyard, use large boxes to turn your den into a drive-in, or just hang out in the living room. Make sure you have lots of popcorn and movie theater sized candy.

Game Night Twister
A little healthy competition is always good. Set up different games in your house and backyard. We like Monopoly, MadGab, and Taboo. To get your guests moving try Twister and the tried and true musical chairs.

However you choose to celebrate the season keep in mind it’s all about enjoying your family and friends. If all else fails, just put out a few snacks and spend some quality time with the ones who mean the most to you. Leave a comment and tell me how you plan to celebrate.

