Lessons Learned

I am not perfect. There, now that I’ve gotten that out of the way, let me tell you about what I have been up to. Last year, I made two decisions regarding my business: (1) I was no longer going to take on private clients and (2) I was not going to hold any events during the summer months. Against my better judgement, I did both of these things, and it all blew up.

As my family has grown, meeting with clients and being able to hold a phone conversation became increasingly more difficult. This was the catalyst behind my decision to no longer take on private clients. Instead, I decided to focus on vendor and community events. Working with other business owners has been so rewarding! So why did I go back on my decision and take on a private client? Well, they bribe approached me after I was referred to her by several other vendors. I was so flattered that she would want to work with me without even meeting me, that I agreed to take the job without really thinking it through. Sadly, because of illness that ran through my family, I was not able to keep up with the demands of this bride, and we parted ways this week. Initially, I was saddened because no one wants to be fired, but after I thought about it, I realized that I was not the best fit for this bride, and she was not the best fit for me. I was reminded of the decision that I had made last year, and it made me realize that I had not been honest with myself or the client.

If that wasn’t enough to deal with I also had to postpone an event that was supposed to take place this week. PicsArt_07-11-05.30.44.pngThe interesting thing about this event, is that it was not on my agenda at the beginning of the year, but after seeing someone’s request on Facebook I decided that I would host a conference for small business owners in my area. Again, I went against my convictions and decided to hold this event during the summer. In case you are not familiar with East Texas, during the summer months it is incredibly hot and there are all sorts of events taking place. This is why I decided that I would not work during the summer. Plus, I really like to have this time to spend with my children. Well, after bismal ticket sales I decided that I would postpone the event and hold it this fall. My initial feelings were to be upset with the people who showed so much interest in this event in the beginning, but never purchased a ticket. After a few moments of reflection, I realized that this event did not go well because it was the right time for me to be doing this.

So, I said all of that to say this: be true to yourself. Stand by your convictions, and never be afraid to admit your mistakes. I will be taking the test of the summer to focus on fall events, and finalize my event calendar for next year. With my renewed conviction, I am forging ahead. I’m excited to see what happens if I don’t give up.

